Warning: Function get_magic_quotes_gpc() is deprecated in /home/eventpho/public_html/forum/includes/class_core.php on line 1960
Dye Subs and the 2nd user market [Archive] - Event Photographer Society Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Dye Subs and the 2nd user market

paul_clark
21-11-2011, 11:34 AM
I am not sure if this has been asked,

Used dye subs crop up with regularity on Ebay etc. How much of a gamble are they?

I know this is a very - very open ended question

If you were to spend say, 400 to purchase a 1200 commercial printer, and it was to fail after a short time, would the
cost of repair, once added to the original purchase price, still mean you had a bargain? As a service engineer myself, I know all the 'stock faults' on the kit I repair, and some models I would not recommend to be purchased 'used' as the risk would be too high of getting a non viable failure.

Does anyone have any sad tales they wish to share?

Mike Weeks
21-11-2011, 11:43 AM
Paul,

sad truth is that all devices fail at unpredictable times. Replacement parts for Dye Subs can be expensive but more importantly they need time to repair and it is the time that costs.

I have bought numerous items second hand once I have seen and tested.

It is a real case of buyer beware and with top brands such as DNP and Mitsubishi (not sure of any others) offering a 2 year warranty that has to be good peace of mind. So the question is 1100 new with 2 year warranty vs 800 secondhand with unknown history and no warranty, what would you do?

Mike

paul_clark
21-11-2011, 12:09 PM
Thanks Mike, totally agree, the price differential of your example is not enough to justify a substantial investment risk.
As I said, as an electronics engineer I am only too aware of how easy it is to be stung with what appeared to be a bargain at the time.