Warning: Function get_magic_quotes_gpc() is deprecated in /home/eventpho/public_html/forum/includes/class_core.php on line 1960
Using a dye sub to print at 3.5x5" without wastage? [Archive] - Event Photographer Society Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Using a dye sub to print at 3.5x5" without wastage?

Adam Kemeny
19-10-2011, 10:10 AM
Hi all, first post here so thanks for all the useful information I've picked up from having a nose about over the last couple of days! My question is a fairly simple one (I think) but asking around has produced conflicting answers hence my asking here.

Can I produce 3.5x5" prints on a dye sub (I'm looking at the Mitsubishi CP-D70DW) without wastage of media? The specs advertise 3.5x5" printing but I can't find any specific 3.5x5" media for it so am guessing that I'd be using the 5x7". Does this mean printing double prints each time? I'd prefer to be producing one at a time with no wastage - am I dreaming?

I'm totally new to this field so am pretty amazed at the lack of manufacturer supplied information...

Cheers!

Adam

Mike Weeks
19-10-2011, 10:18 AM
Adam,

best advice is to phone the dealers i.e. Photomart or System Insight. They can also advise you of any other machines that may print that size in it cant.

Mike

Mark Amies
19-10-2011, 10:29 AM
Maybe a incredible co-incidence, but I was speaking to someone about this yesterday.

I have often enquired as to the availability of this size media to no avail, especially with Mitsubishi. They had always told us that the demand wasn't there, and they didn't get it in accordingly.

Believe me, it wasn't for the want of trying.

Mark Amies
19-10-2011, 10:37 AM
I am going to make some enquiries today to see if we can get DNP DS40 media at that size.

I will let you know.

Adam Kemeny
19-10-2011, 10:54 AM