Warning: Function get_magic_quotes_gpc() is deprecated in /home/eventpho/public_html/forum/includes/class_core.php on line 1960
Outside events - generator help. [Archive] - Event Photographer Society Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Outside events - generator help.

Damon Robinson
26-10-2010, 01:49 PM
Hi,

i haven't worked outside (read printing onsite outside) before and have a job to do.

i have no experience with generators.

Looking for some advice from those that do with regard to what kind of generator I need. I'll just hire something for this event as it's not what I would usually do. No idea what I need or extra equipment to go with it's use if any.

i will need to power;

Printer
3 x laptops
2 x monitors
1 x switch
1 x router
maybe need an extra socket or two for possible use on chargers.

Any and all help is appreciated to do with the equipment and pitfalls of such events.

Many thanks

Damon

Dave Derrett
26-10-2010, 02:41 PM
If it helps, I use a Honda EU10i - brilliant. Powers 2 printers,laptop,monitor,etc. Only rated at 1kw but copes fine. Also available Honda EU20i (2kw) Would advise you use an inverter type generator as very stable supply - not a 'building site' type. Also put a surge protector in just in case.....

Damon Robinson
26-10-2010, 02:46 PM
Thanks for the reply Dave,

Are they described as 'inverter' in their details? Not sure of the difference. Is the surge protector something i can hire along with it or is it just like the mains multi plug surge protection thingy i already use?

Cheers

Damon

Dave Derrett
26-10-2010, 02:49 PM
Thanks for the reply Dave,

Are they described as 'inverter' in their details? Not sure of the difference. Is the surge protector something i can hire along with it or is it just like the mains multi plug surge protection thingy i already use?

Cheers

Damon
The i means inverter. I just use yer average mains surge protector block with ten sockets for all the kit. Get em anywhere....

Jeremy Nako
26-10-2010, 02:51 PM